

UNITED STATES SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20549

November 28, 2017

Mick Mulvaney Director Office of Management and Budget c/o Stannis M. Smith 725 17th Street, NW Washington, D.C. 20503

Dear Mr. Mulvaney:

We are sending this letter in accordance with the Government Charge Card Abuse Prevention Act of 2012 (Public Law 112-194), which requires that Inspectors General report to the Director of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) on the implementation of recommendations made to the head of the executive agency to address findings of any analysis or audit of purchase card and convenience check transactions or programs. Furthermore, OMB Memorandum M-13-21, "Implementation of the Government Charge Card Abuse Prevention Act of 2012," states that Inspectors General shall report to the Director of OMB 120 days after the end of each fiscal year on agency progress in implementing such audit recommendations.

As required by the Government Charge Card Abuse Prevention Act of 2012, the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission's (SEC) Office of Inspector General is performing an annual risk assessment of the SEC's government purchase card program. We will report that work to the agency later this fiscal year. However, we did not issue any reports regarding the SEC's government purchase card program during fiscal year 2017. Furthermore, as reported in January 2017, we closed all recommendations from our most recent related audit report before the end of fiscal year 2014.

If you have questions or require additional information, please contact Rebecca Sharek, Deputy Inspector General for Audits, Evaluations, and Special Projects at sharekr@sec.gov or (202) 551-6061.

Sincerely,

Carl W. Hoecker

Inspector General

¹ U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, Office of Inspector General, "Controls over the SEC's Government Purchase Card Program," Report No. 517, March 28, 2014.

Mr. Mulvaney November 28, 2017 Page 2

cc: Jay Clayton, Chairman

Lucas Moskowitz, Chief of Staff, Office of Chairman Clayton Sean Memon, Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of Chairman Clayton Peter Uhlmann, Managing Executive, Office of Chairman Clayton

Michael S. Piwowar, Commissioner

Richard Grant, Counsel, Office of Commissioner Piwowar

Kara M. Stein, Commissioner

Robert Peak, Advisor to the Commissioner, Office of Commissioner Stein

Robert B. Stebbins, General Counsel

Bryan Wood, Director, Office of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs

John J. Nester, Director, Office of Public Affairs

Rick A. Fleming, Investor Advocate

Kenneth Johnson, Acting Chief Operating Officer

Vance Cathell, Director, Office of Acquisitions

Darlene L. Pryor, Management and Program Analyst, Office of the Chief Operating Officer